Search

Marine Chemist Association
76 Farmholme Road
Stonington, CT 06378
(860) 599-3079 (W)
dvraff@comcast.net




Committees & Boards

Choose a committee below to view its membership.

Executive Committee
Gas Hazards
MCQB
Field Advisory


Scope:  The Committee shall have primary responsibility for documents on the prevention of fire and explo-sion of flammable vapors in compartments or in spaces on board vessels and within shipyards and on the conditions that must exist in those compartments or spaces in order that workers can safely enter them and perform work.

NFPA Technical Committee on Gas Hazards
(updated August 2016)


 
PRINCIPALS
James R. Thornton, Chairman
Newport News Shipbuilding
4101 Washington Avenue
Newport News, VA 23607
Phone: 757-380-4651
Email: james.thornton@hii-nns.com

 

Robert V. Albert, PhD.
Principal
U.S. Dept. of the Navy, NAVSEA
Portsmouth Naval Shipyard
Code 106.11, Bldg 44
Portsmouth, NH 03804-5000
(Rep. U.S. Navy Shipyard Conversion/Repair)
Phone: 207-438-1504
Email: robert.albert@navy.mil

 

Leslie Blaize
Principal
Belay Inc.
9630 N.W. Skyline Boulevard
Portland, OR 97231
(Rep. Marine Chemists Association, Inc.)

 

Thomas Cinko
Principal
Honeywell Analytics
PO Box 5311
Annapolis, MD 21403
Phone: 443-924-1540
Email: thomas.cinko@honeywell.com

 

Louis Donsbach, Jr
Principal
US Steel Corporation
One North Broadway 91E2/TS 526
Gary, IN 46402-3101
Phone: 219-888-4386
Email: ladonsbach@uss.com

 

Jason A. Fox
Principal
Mine Safety Appliances Company (MSA)
1000 Cranberry Woods Drive
Cranberry Township, PA 16068
(Rep. International Safety Equipment Assn.)
Phone: 412-266-1006
Email: jason.fox@msanet.com

 

Gregory G. Grondin
Principal
Bath Iron Works Corporation
166 Maquoit Road
Brunswick, ME 04011-7473 USA
Phone: 207-751-1005
Mobile phone: 207-720-0184
Email: gregory3462@gmail.com

 

Patrick O. Killeen
Principal
Signal International, Inc.
601 Bayou Casotte Parkway
Pascagoula, MS 39581-9600
(Rep. Shipbuilders Council of America)
Phone: 228-762-0010
Email: pkilleen@signalint.com

 

Sean Kline
Principal
Chamber of Shipping of America
1730 Rhode Island Avenue, NW
Suite 702
Washington, DC 20036-3115 USA
Phone: 202-775-4399
Email: skline@knowships.org

 

Paul Manzi
Principal
BP Shipping, Ltd.
Chertsey Rd.
Sunbury, Middlesex
TW16-7LN United Kingdom
(Rep. American Petroleum Institute)

 

Joseph P. McElhinney, Jr.
Principal
US Department of Transportation
US Maritime Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20590 USA
Phone: 202-366-1742
Mobile phone: 202-306-5436
Email: joseph.mcelhinney@dot.gov

 

Carolyn Oyster
Principal
US Coast Guard
1 USCG Training Center
115 Hamilton Hall
Yorktown, VA 23690 USA
Phone: 757-856-2727
Email: carolyn.j.oyster@uscg.mil

 

Donald V. Raffo
General Dynamics/Electric Boat Corporation
Dept. 341
75 Eastern Point Road
Groton, CT 06340
Phone: 860-433-7007
Email: draffo@gdeb.com

 

Joseph A. Riva
American Bureau of Shipping
16855 Northchase Drive
Houston, TX 77060
Phone: 281-877-5886
Email: jriva@eagle.org

 

John W. Sansing
Kirby Inland Marine, LP
16402-1/2 DeZavala
Channelview, TX 77530
(Rep. American Waterways Operators)
Phone: 713-435-1720
Email: john.sansing@kirbycorp.com


Amy A. Wangdahl

Occupational Safety & Health Administration
200 Constitution Ave. NW, Room N-3609
Washington, DC 20210
Phone: 202-693-2066
Email: wangdahl.amy@dol.gov

 


ALTERNATES

John T. Bell
Alternate
Marine Inspection Services Inc.
PO Box 1289
Channel View, TX 77530-1289 USA
Phone: 281-457-5552
Email: jbellcmc585@gmail.com

 

James P. Bruff
Alternate
Atlantic Coast Marine Chemist
1423 Rolling Glen Drive #A
Boothwyn, PA 19061-2839 USA
Phone: 215-779-9809
Email: chemist671@gmail.com

 

Joseph J. Cox
Alternate
Chamber of Shipping of America
1730 Rhode Island Avenue, NW, Suite 702
Washington, DC 20036 USA
Principal: Sean Kline
Phone: 202-775-4399
Email:jcox@knowships.org

 

 


John R. Ward, Jr.
Alternate
Huntington Ingalls Industries
Newport News Shipbuilding
4101 Washington Avenue
Newport News, VA 23607-2734 USA
Principal: James R. Thornton
Phone: 757-620-6215
Mobile phone: 757-778-1089
Email: john.r.ward@hii-nns.com

 

Lawrence Russell
Staff Liaison
National Fire Protection Association
1 Batterymarch Park
Quincy, MA 02169-7471 USA
Phone: 617-984-7499
Email: lrussell@nfpa.org